Skip directly to search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to navigation Skip directly to site content Skip directly to page options

Board of Scientific Counselors

BSC Membership

The key role of the members of the Board of Scientific Counselors (“Board”), NCEH/ATSDR is to provide advice and guidance to the Secretary, HHS, the Director, CDC and the Director, NCEH/ATSDR. Their advice and guidance is with regard to program goals, objectives, strategies, and priorities to fulfill the agencies' mission to protect and promote people's health.

The BSC consists of 16 voting members and four non-voting federal expert members. NCEH/ATSDR recruits nominees through announcements they publish in the Federal Register, and through recommendations from BSC members and CDC partners and staff. The Department of Health and Human Services selects the BSC members who then serve up to four years. Federal expert members serve as representatives from four federal agencies:

  • Department of Energy
  • National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health
  • National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences
  • Environmental Protection Agency

In addition, for the Board to effectively carry out its functions, the Secretary can also select additional officials of the United States Government if necessary.

Occasionally the BSC may establish subcommittees with the approval of the Secretary, HHS, or designee. The BSC will notify the Department Committee Management Officer of the establishment of each subcommittee, and will provide information on its name, membership, function, and estimated frequency of meetings.

Designated Federal Officer

Vikas Kapil, DO, MPH, FACOEM
Chief Medical Officer and Associate Director for Science, National Center for Environmental Health, Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry


Lisa Alvarez-Cohen, PhD
Fred and Claire Sauer Professor, Chair of Civil and Environmental Engineering Department, University of California
Term: 9/6/12 - 6/2/16

Thomas A. Arcury, PhD
Professor and Vice Chair for Research, Department of Family and Community Medicine, Director, Center for Worker Health, Wake Forest University School of Medicine
Term: 5/28/10 – 6/2/13

Tina Bahadori, DSc
National Program Director, Chemical Safety for Sustainability (CSS), Office of Research and Development / IOAA, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center
Term: 6/2/10 -– 6/2/13

Hillary M. Carpenter, PhD
Term: 9/5/2012 - 6/2/2016

Julia M. Gohlke, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Environmental Health Sciences, School of Public Health-University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB)
Term: 5/2/12 - 6/2/16

Rebecca A. Head, PhD, DABT
Associate Director, Office of Public Health Practice
Term: 5/11/12 -– 6/2/13

Daniel E. Kass, MSPH
Deputy Commissioner, Division of Environmental Health, New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene
Term: 2/24/11 - 6/2/14

Ewa King, PhD
Associate Director, State Health Laboratories, Rhode Island Department of Health
Term: 5/1/12 -– 6/2/15

Michael T. Kleinman, PhD
Air Pollution Health Effects Laboratory, Department of Medicine, Occupational and Environmental Medicine Division
Term: 2/22/11 –- 6/2/14

Shannon P. Marquez, MEng, PhD
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Director of Global Health Initiatives, Associate Professor-Environmental & Occupational Health, Drexel University School of Public Health
Term: 2/21/11 –- 6/2/14

Kenneth S. Ramos, MD, PhD
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, University of Louisville Health Sciences Center, School of Medicine
Term: 5/8/12 –- 6/2/15

Sanjay M. Ranchod, J.D.
Assistant General Counsel and Director, Policy and Electricity Markets, SolarCity Corporation
Term: 9/14/12 - 6/2/16

G. Marie Swanson, PhD, MPH
Associate Vice Chancellor for Public Health, Professor and Chair, Department of Public Health, and Associate Director for Population Science, Melvin and Bren Simon Cancer Center, Indiana University School of Medicine
Term: 06/10 –- 06/2/13

Sacoby M. Wilson, M.S., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Maryland Institute for Applied, Environmental Health
Term: 2/27/11 - 6/2/14

Robert O. Wright, MD MPH
Professor of Pediatrics and Preventive Medicine, Director, Division of Environmental Health, Mount Sinai School of Medicine
Term: 11/12/12 –- 6/2/16

Federal Experts

John A. Decker, CIH, RPh
Senior Scientist, Office of the Director, National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health , Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Bonnie S. Richter, MPH, PhD
Senior Epidemiologist, Office of Health and Safety. HS-13, US Department of Energy

Kristina Thayer, Ph.D.
Director, NTP Center for the Evaluation of Risks to Human Reproduction (CERHR), NIEHS/NTP

Hal Zenick, PhD
Director, National Health and Environmental Effects Research Laboratory, MD B305-01, United States Environmental Protection Agency

Contact Us:
  • Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry
    4770 Buford Hwy NE
    Atlanta, GA 30341
  • 800-CDC-INFO
    TTY: (888) 232-6348
    Contact CDC-INFO
  • New Hours of Operation
    8am-8pm ET/Monday-Friday
    Closed Holidays The U.S. Government's Official Web PortalDepartment of Health and Human Services
Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry, 4770 Buford Hwy NE, Atlanta, GA 30341
Contact CDC: 800-232-4636 / TTY: 888-232-6348

A-Z Index

  1. A
  2. B
  3. C
  4. D
  5. E
  6. F
  7. G
  8. H
  9. I
  10. J
  11. K
  12. L
  13. M
  14. N
  15. O
  16. P
  17. Q
  18. R
  19. S
  20. T
  21. U
  22. V
  23. W
  24. X
  25. Y
  26. Z
  27. #