Skip directly to search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to navigation Skip directly to site content Skip directly to page options

Vieques, Puerto Rico

Meeting Summary the 2009 Vieques Scientific Consultation

Note: The purpose of the 2009 meeting was to review and discuss studies that have been conducted for Vieques and generate recommendations for further work. During the two-day meeting, participants posed questions and made individual recommendations.

Appendix A – Participants

Invited Scientists

  • Carmen Colón de Jorge, N.D. Association of Licensed Naturopaths of Puerto Rico
  • Nayda R. Figueroa Vallés, M.D., M.P.H. Director, Puerto Rico Cancer Registry
  • Arturo Massol-Deyá, Ph.D. Professor, University of Puerto Rico-Mayagüez
  • Carmen Ortiz Roque, M.S., M.D., M.P.H College of Physicians and Surgeons of Puerto Rico
  • James Porter, Ph.D. Associate Dean, Odum School of Ecology, University of Georgia
  • John Wargo, Ph.D. Professor, Yale University


  • Howard Frumkin, M.D., Dr.P.H. Director, NCEH/ATSDR
  • Tom Sinks, Ph.D. Deputy Director, NCEH/ATSDR
  • Fred Angulo, D.V.M., M.P.H. Acting Associate Director of Science
  • Wilma López, M.S. Web Activity Manager, Office of Communication
  • Rockie Rodriquez, M.A. Public Health Analyst, Office of Policy, Planning and Evaluation

CDC Staff

  • Kathy Caldwell, Ph.D. NCEH Division of Laboratory Services
  • Jeff Jarrett, M.S. Research Chemist NCEH Division of Laboratory Services
  • Theresa NeSmith, B.S., R.S./R.E.H.S. Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
  • Carl Verdon, Ph.D. Research Chemist NCEH Division of Laboratory Services

ATSDR Staff – Division of Regional Operations

  • Leah Graziano, B.S., R.S., Senior Regional Representative

ATSDR Staff – Division of Toxicology and Environmental Medicine (DTEM)

  • John Risher, Ph.D. Senior Science Advisor
  • Oscar Tarragó, M.D. Environmental Health Scientist

ATSDR Staff – Division of Health Studies (DHS)

  • Robin Lee, M.P.H. Team Lead
  • Frank Bove, Ph.D. Epidemiologist
  • Charles H. Weir, M.S., M.P.H., P.E. Public Health Advisor

ATSDR Staff – Division of Health Assessment and Consultation (DHAC)

  • William Cibulas, Ph.D. Division Director, DHAC
  • Sandy Isaacs, M.T. (A.S.C.P.) Chief, Site and Radiological Assessment Branch
  • Lisa Hayes, M.S., P.E., Lead Vieques Site Team Lead Environmental Health Scientist
  • Jill Dyken, Ph.D., P.E. Environmental Health Scientist
  • David Mellard, Ph.D. Toxicologist
  • Timothy Pettifor, B.S. Environmental Health Scientist
  • Katie Pugh, M.S. Environmental Health Scientist
  • Patty Seward Administrative Assistant
  • Rita Tallini, M.B.A. Senior Environmental Engineer
  • Maria Teran-MacIver, R.N., M.S.N. Health Communications Specialist
  • Pam Uveges Administrative Assistant
  • Greg Zarus, M.S. Lead Environmental Health Scientist

Eastern Research Group

  • Michelle Arbogast, M.S. Senior Environmental Scientist
  • John Wilhelmi, M.S. Senior Chemical Engineer

* Individual recommendations from the 2009 meeting were taken into consideration, and many of the issues are being addressed in the Summary Report.

Top of Page

Previous Page Next Page: Appendix B - Agenda

Pages in this Report
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. [5]
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
Contact Us:
  • Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry
    4770 Buford Hwy NE
    Atlanta, GA 30341
  • 800-CDC-INFO
    TTY: (888) 232-6348
    Contact CDC-INFO
  • New Hours of Operation
    8am-8pm ET/Monday-Friday
    Closed Holidays The U.S. Government's Official Web PortalDepartment of Health and Human Services
Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry, 4770 Buford Hwy NE, Atlanta, GA 30341
Contact CDC: 800-232-4636 / TTY: 888-232-6348

A-Z Index

  1. A
  2. B
  3. C
  4. D
  5. E
  6. F
  7. G
  8. H
  9. I
  10. J
  11. K
  12. L
  13. M
  14. N
  15. O
  16. P
  17. Q
  18. R
  19. S
  20. T
  21. U
  22. V
  23. W
  24. X
  25. Y
  26. Z
  27. #