Agenda*

Board of Scientific Counselors (BSC) National Center for Environmental Health (NCEH) / Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR) May 19 – 20, 2005

Century Center 1825 Century Boulevard, Atlanta, GA 30345 Conference Room 1A / 1B

Thursday, May 19, 2005

8:30 a.m. – 9:00 a.m.	Welcome & Introductions Patricia Nolan, MD, MPH
	Tom Sinks, PhD Acting Director, NCEH/ATSDR
9:00 a.m. – 10:10 a.m.	Futures Initiative, Coordinating Center for Environmental Health & Injury Prevention (EHIP) (Information only) Ruth Martin, MS Chief Management Officer, EHIP
	 Status of Goals (Information and Advice) Places Goals Grant Baldwin, PhD, MPH Acting Special Assistant to the Director, EHIP
	Research Agenda (Information only) Robert Spengler, ScD Director, Office of Public Health Research Office of the Chief Science Officer, CDC
	Discussion
10:10 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.	Break
10:30 a.m. – 11:00 a.m.	State of NCEH/ATSDR (Information and Advice) Tom Sinks, PhD
11:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.	Public Comment Period
12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m.	Lunch

1:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m. ATSDR Draft Dioxin Soil Policy Guideline (Vote)

David Gaylor, PhD, Gaylor and Associates, LLC

Mark Johnson, PhD, DABT Senior Environmental Health Scientist Division of Regional Operations, ATSDR

Harold Koenig, MD, Chair and President The Annapolis Center

2:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.	ATSDR – Asbestos and Environmental Public Health: Where do we go from here? (Information and Advice) Vikas Kapil, D.O., M.P.H., FACOEM, Senior Medical Officer Division of Health Studies, ATSDR
	John Wheeler, Ph.D., DABT, Environmental Health Scientist Division of Health Assessment and Consultation, ATSDR
	Discussion
3:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.	Ad Hoc Workgroup on Criteria for "De-Listing" Chemicals from CDC's National Report on Human Exposure to Environmental Chemicals (Update and Advice)
	John Osterloh, MD Chief Medical Officer, Division of Laboratory Sciences, NCEH
	James Derouin, J.D. Senior Environmental Counsel Steptoe and Johnson, LLP
3:30 p.m. – 3:45 p.m.	Break
3:45 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.	Topic: Third National Report on Human Exposure to Environmental Chemicals (Information only) James Pirkle, MD, PhD Deputy Director for Sciences, Division of Laboratory Sciences, NCEH
4:30 p.m.	Adjourn
<u>Friday, May 20, 2005</u>	
8:00 a.m. – 8:10 a.m.	Meeting Reconvenes - Announcements Patricia Nolan, MD, MPH
8:10 a.m 10:10 a.m. 8:10 a.m. – 8:50 a.m.	 Updates: Subcommittees and Workgroup Program Peer Review Subcommittee Process Overview of Hazardous Substances Emergency Events Surveillance Report (Information only) Chair: Dan Wartenberg, PhD Hazardous Substances Emergency Events Surveillance (HSEES) Program Workgroup Report (Vote) G. David Williamson, PhD, Director, Division of Health Studies Briefing: Peer Review Plans of Environmental Health

Services Branch (Information only) Dan Wartenberg, PhD Page 3 – Continued BSC, NCEH/ATSDR

	 Briefing: Environmental Health Services Branch (EHSB) (Information only)
	Sharunda Buchanan, MS, PhD, Chief, EHSB
	-Current and New Process for Peer Review (Information
	and Advice)
	Chair: Dan Wartenberg, PhD
8:50 a.m. – 9:30 a.m.	Community/Tribal Subcommittee—(Information and Advice)
	Chair: Cynthia Harris, PhD
9:30 p.m. – 10:10 a.m.	Health Department Workgroup—(Vote) Chair: Gayle Windham, PhD
10:10 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.	Break
10:30 a.m. – 10:45 a.m.	Public Comment
10:45 a.m. – 12:15 p.m.	Open BSC Committee Discussions
12:15 p.m. – 12:30 p.m.	Closing Comments Tom Sinks, PhD
12:30 p.m.	Adjourn

*Agenda Items and Times May Change as Priorities Dictate