Board of Scientific Counselors (BSC) National Center for Environmental Health (NCEH)/ Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR)

October 16-17, 2012

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

4770 Buford Highway, Atlanta, Georgia 30341 (Building 106 – Conference Rooms 1A/B)

Tuesday, October 16, 2012

8:30 a.m. – 9:00 a.m.	Welcome, Introductions and Agenda Review for Conflict-of-Interest Issues Christopher J. Portier, Director, NCEH/ATSDR Vikas (Vik) Kapil, Chief Medical Officer and Associate Director for Science Paula Burgess, Deputy Associate Director for Science and Designated Federal Officer (DFO)
9:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.	NCEH/ATSDR Office of the Director Updates
10:00 a.m 10:30 a.m.	BSC Comments/Discussion
10:30 a.m 10:45 a.m.	BREAK
10:45 a.m 11:45 a.m.	Lead Program Update Mary Jean Brown, Lead Scientist Healthy Homes and Lead Poisoning Prevention Program Division of Emergency and Environmental Health Sciences
11:45 a.m. – 12:15 p.m.	BSC Comments/Discussion
12:15 p.m. – 1:30 p.m.	LUNCH
1:30 p.m. – 2:00 p.m.	Update on National Exposure Report and Exposure to Harmful Constituents in Tobacco Jim Pirkle, Director, Division of Laboratory Science
2:00 p.m 2:30 p.m.	BSC Comments/Discussion
2:30 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.	Environmental Health Portfolio Management (EHPM) Sascha Chaney, Chief of Staff
3:00 p.m 3:15 p.m.	BREAK
3:15 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.	PUBLIC COMMENT
3:30 p.m 4:00 p.m.	BSC Comments/Discussion (EHPM)

Tuesday, October 16, 2012 (continued)

4:00 p.m. - 4:15 p.m. **Wrap-up**

4:15 p.m. **Adjourn**

Wednesday, October 17, 2012

8:30 a.m. – 8:45 a.m. Welcome and Announcements

Christopher J. Portier, Director, NCEH/ATSDR Vikas (Vik) Kapil, Chief Medical Officer and

Associate Director for Science

Paula Burgess, Deputy Associate Director for Science

and Designated Federal Officer (DFO)

8:45 a.m. – 9:30 a.m. **Public Health Surveillance following**

Emergency Events

Lauren Lewis, Branch Chief, Health Studies

Division of Environmental Hazards and Health Effects
D. Kevin Horton, Chief, Environmental Health Surveillance
Branch, Division of Toxicology and Human Health Sciences

9:30 a.m. -10:00 a.m. **BSC Comments/Discussion**

10:00 a.m. −10:15 a.m. **PUBLIC COMMENT**

10:15 a.m. -10:30 a.m. **BREAK**

10:30 a.m. -11:00 a.m. Updates by BSC Federal Experts

John Decker, NIOSH Bonnie Richter, DOE

Abee L. Boyles, NIEHS (Rep. Kristina Thayer)

Hal Zenick, EPA

11:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. **Open Discussion**

11:30 a.m. – 11:45 a.m. **Closing Remarks**

Christopher J. Portier, Director, NCEH/ATSDR Vikas (Vik) Kapil, Chief Medical Officer and

Associate Director for Science

Paula Burgess, Deputy Associate Director for Science

and Designated Federal Officer (DFO)

11:45 a.m. Adjourn

^{*}Agenda Items and Times are Subject to Change as Priorities Dictate