APPLETREE Funding Announcements for FY 2020-2023

Cooperative Agreement Funding Announcements

ATSDR will award $11.8 million annually to 28 state health departments for fiscal year (FY) 2020-2023. The states will use the funding to evaluate past and present exposure to environmental hazards and to prevent future exposures. ATSDR is a federal public health agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and co-located with the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

The cooperative agreement program, ATSDR’s Partnership to Promote Local Efforts to Reduce Environmental Exposure (APPLETREE), will give states resources and guidance to assess and respond to site-specific issues involving exposure to hazardous substances in the environment by

  • Identifying exposure pathways at specific sites
  • Reviewing environmental and health data to identify potential health risks from exposures
  • Making recommendations to prevent exposures
  • Educating affected communities and local health professionals about site contamination and potential health effects at sites

During this funding cycle, funded states will also use program awards to develop plans and take action to protect children from environmental hazards through the safe siting of early care and education facilities.

The safe siting of early care and education facilities will include a review of the following:

  • Former uses of a site that may have left harmful substances on the property (both building and land)
  • Possible migration of harmful substances onto the site from nearby properties or activities
  • Any naturally occurring harmful substances on site
  • Access to safe drinking water at the site

The following state health departments will receive APPLETREE Program funding during FY 2020-2023.

  1. Alaska Department of Health and Social Services
  2. California Department of Public Health
  3. Colorado Department of Public Health & Environment
  4. Connecticut Department of Public Health
  5. Florida Department of Health
  6. Georgia Department of Public Health
  7. Idaho Department of Health and Welfare
  8. Illinois Department of Public Health
  9. Louisiana Department of Health
  10. Massachusetts Department of Public Health
  11. Michigan Department of Health & Human Services
  12. Minnesota Department of Health
  13. Missouri Department of Health & Senior Services
  14. Montana Department of Public Health & Human Services
  15. New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services
  16. New Jersey Department of Health
  17. New Mexico Department of Health
  18. New York Department of Health (Health Research, Inc)
  19. North Carolina Department of Health & Human Services
  20. Ohio Department of Health
  21. Oregon Health Authority
  22. Pennsylvania Department of Health
  23. Rhode Island Department of Health
  24. Tennessee Department of Health
  25. Texas Department of State Health Services
  26. Utah Department of Health
  27. Washington Department of Health
  28. Wisconsin Department of Health Services

The APPLETREE program is critical to ATSDR’s success in accomplishing its mission to protect people’s health from environmental hazards that can be present in the air they breathe, the water they drink, or the food they eat. For a copy of the Notice of Funding Opportunity Announcement (FOA), visit icon.

Page last reviewed: October 13, 2021